Spaghetti and Meatballs Cupcakes

These are a really cute idea for a get together. If you put only one “meatball” on per cupcake and serve a bunch on a tray it looks like a HUGE bowl of spaghetti!

Ingredients:

  • 12 baked and cooled vanilla cupcakes
  • Homemade or store bought classic vanilla frosting
  • 1/2 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup low sugar strawberry preserves (low sugar has the best color)
  • 3 drops yellow food coloring
  • 12 hazelnut chocolates (Ferrero Rocher), unwrapped
  • 2 tablespoons grated white chocolate plus additional chunk for garnish

Step 1-Tint the vanilla frosting with the cocoa powder and yellow food coloring. Spread a thin layer of tinted frosting on top of the cupcakes. Arrange the cupcakes on a serving platter, touching.

Step 2-Spoon the remaining tinted frosting into a ziplock bag. Snip a small corner from the bag. Now have fun piping the frosting all over the cupcakes to make the noodles. Make sure to pile it high and have some of the frosting hang over the edges of the cupcakes.

Step 3-Toss the hazelnut chocolates with the strawberry preserves in a medium bowl to coat. Spoon some of the preserves on top of each cupcake. Place a hazelnut chocolate on top of each cupcake, and one on the platter. Top cupcakes with the remaining strawberry preserves.

Step 4-Sprinkle the grated white chocolate over the cupcakes.

50 thoughts on “Spaghetti and Meatballs Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti and Meatballs Cupcakes | A Ponytail Kind of Day

  2. My o My that is both clever and cute.I haven’t done any serious baking in a while;but I have to try this one out.I’m sure my grand daughters would dig them.Thank for stopping by ain’t no bistro.

  3. Can’t stop thinking about these cute as cupcakes!!! Trying to think of a suitable occasion to whip them up! Thanks for the likes on my blog too xx

  4. Pingback: things i’ve seen & loved this week « life, loves & liz (me)

  5. hahahah when I first saw the name of this recipe I was completely disgusted… yet intrigued? But now I see where you’re going with this and it’s still totally weird but super awesome, too.

    • Well the cocoa doesn’t really add anything to the frosting beside making the “noodles” more realistic. Though a good substitute would be carob powder. As for the “meatballs”, the best thing I can recommend would be carob malted milk balls. Hope this helps a little bit :)

  6. Your stuff is amazing! Wish I lived closer so I could sample some but it’s a long trip from her to Phoenix…and by the time I get to Phoenix you’ll probably have eaten it all! Thanks for following my blog’ I’m following yours with my salivary glands out on stalks!

  7. Pingback: Ferrero Rocher Meatball and Spaghetti Cupcakes | Cake Pops and Cup Cakes

  8. Pingback: Spaghetti and Meatballs Cupcakes | Around Annabelle's Table

  9. I thought this was just a novel plating idea for real spaghetti and meatballs with marinara! You fooled me and I am French/Italian…pretty cute. YOU SUCCEEDED IN MAKING ME SMILE FROM EAR TO EAR WITH THIS ONE.

    Please share your amazing culinary treasures on either of my cooking sites!

    Pretty please! Make my day!
    I have been moving and have no kitchen now….It is all in storage so a few guest posts would be fantastic, especially if you showed people how to make the things you make.

    Polly Motzko
    http://www.CookingUpaStorminCa.ning.com

Leave a Reply

